Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer



On a beautiful November afternoon in Calgary, Leonard Chesoo from Concordia University of Edmonton blazed through the eight kilometre course in a time of 24:44 to capture the CCAA Cross-Country Running National Championship.

Chesoo was in command right from the start, finishing the race 32 seconds ahead of the second place runner and 42 seconds ahead of the bronze medalist.

Leonard quickly familiarized himself with the challenging course and then dominated the field 24 hours later, cementing himself as the top men's cross country runner in the country.

Nolan Turgeon of the Victoriaville Vulkins finished with a respectable time of 25:12 and Seth Marcaccio of the Fanshawe Falcons rounded out the podium in third (25:22).

In the team competition, the Fanshawe Falcons captured the national championship after placing two runners in the top five in team points and their top four runners were in the Top 25 in the field. The Falcons were led by Marcaccio (25:22) and Sandy Freeland (25:32). Ethan Roche (26:56), Luke Grouix (27:36 time), John Berthelot (27:59) and Kyle Luyt (28:11) rounded out the Falcons' results.

The Victoriaville Vulkins captured the silver medal and were led by Nolan Turgeon (25:12). Mathis Vallieres (25:52), Jeremy Dion (27:06), Emmanuel Lebel (28:05) and Ismael Lamoureux (30:19) joined the Vulkins team on the podium.

Capturing the bronze medal were the St. Clair Saints. Tyler Jones (25:38) was led the way for the Saints placing seventh in the 8km race. Jacob Fitzpatrick (25:43), Rick Nepomuceno (26:07), Matt Lafleur (28:36), John Riley (28:57) and Mitch Haggart (30:52) completed the field for the Saints.

Fitzgerald, Volontaires win CCAA Women's Gold at Cross-Country Championship

The Calgary weather cooperated, and Makenna Fitzgerald and her fellow runners made the most it. The SAIT Trojan athlete ran an excellent race capturing the 2021 CCAA Cross Country Running National Championship.

It was quite the showing for Makenna who finished the 6km race with a time of 21:40:93 to earn the title.

Finishing 62 seconds back was Juliette Belanger of Gaillards de Jonquiere. Rounding out the podium was Elodie Hebert of the Volontaires de Sherbrooke with a time of 23:26:75.

Despite the harsh winds, the ladies gave it their best, and finished the race with triumph.

In the team completion, the Sherbrooke Volontaires captured the national championship after placing two runners in the top six in team points. The Volontaires were led by Elodie Herbert (23:26) and Rose-Emanuelle Binette (23:47). Angele-Emilie (25:23), Elise Vaillancourt (25:40) and Natasha Bolger (26:46) rounded out the Volontaires' results.

The Concordia Thunder captured the silver medal and were led by Emma Derbyshire (24:44) and Anna Peacocke (24:46), Morgan Spryut (25:17), Taylor Chamberlain (25:34) and Gillian Nachtigall (28:45) rounded out the Thunder team as they went on to their silver medal.

Capturing the bronze medal were the University of Alberta Augustana Vikings. Reese Bendiksen (23:38) anchored the Vikings and paced fifth in the 6km race. The remaining Vikings to join the podium were Caitlin Debree (24:39), Makayla Sheppard (26:12), Chloe Funnell (26:30), Serena Isley (28:25) and Mia Spreen (31:22).

Men's All-Canadians
Seth Marcaccio, Fanshawe
Sandy Freeland, Fanshawe
Tyler Jones, St. Clair
Jacob Fitzpatrick, St. Clair
Rick Nepomuceno, St. Clair

Women's All-Canadians
Catherine Irwin, St. Lawrence
Faith Nieson, Laurier-Brantford

Source: CCAA Communications/St. Mary's Lightning